And the first kit still tastes great. I’m somewhat surprised, since this kit was a “nouveau” wine that is ready to drink within days of bottling. I was told that after 6-7 months the wine might start losing some of the flavours and aromas that were present early on. I did notice one or two bottles tasting a little… flat. Not bad, just not as good as earlier on.

This last bottle, however, was just as good as the one I opened first. It still benefits from either a few minutes in the glass, or for the impatient of us, a run through an aerator.

I’m excited now, since I’m done traveling for work, wrote my (hopefully) last exam for a year, and now actually have some time away from studying to actually tend to a kit as needed. Just this past Saturday I started a kit my wife really wants. She’s not much of a wine drinker, but really wants to have something fresh and fruity to drink for her summer birthday. Her kit of choice: Pineapple Pear Pinot Grigio. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t looking forward to trying that.

